Our Governing Body

As Chair of the Governing Body of Foxmoor School, I feel privileged to work with a dedicated group of people who have so much knowledge and experience to bring to the school from industry, education, the armed forces, higher education and even Education Inspection. Although we all come from very different backgrounds we have one overwhelming desire; to keep Foxmoor flying the flag for quality, excellence, high standards and innovation in Primary Education and ensuring that through this every child has their chance to shine.

We work with highly-skilled and motivated staff who have striven to maintain the school’s well-deserved, high reputation. It is difficult to get to the top and it is even harder to stay there but year-on-year they deliver and meet the ever-increasing targets set for them.

This is only achieved through humility, a total lack of complacency and the determination to give our pupils the very best start we can; we evaluate rigorously, constantly searching and researching ways we can improve or ways we can meet the latest legislation and changes without losing the best that we have.

It is hard work but very rewarding when we see the endeavours of the children and are amazed at their talents and eagerness to learn and improve.


What is the role of a Governing Body?

All schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. This is done by reviewing and agreeing policies, targets and priorities and monitoring and reviewing aims and objectives. The key role is to act as a ‘critical friend’, this means to support, challenge, and ask questions and ultimately to be accountable to the school community and the Government for the standards, resources and finances of the school.

 In carrying out its duties, the Governing Body works in close partnership with the Headteacher, the staff and the Local Authority to create a clear understanding of the challenges faced in managing the school. Whilst the Headteacher is, of course, responsible for the day-to-day running of the school, the governors are involved with such things as staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance. They ensure that the school functions well and maintains its high standards of attainment and achievement for all pupils by providing a broad and enriching curriculum and ensuring that staff training, resources and accommodation are available to facilitate this.

In consultation with all the relevant groups, we have range of academic and social objectives which we monitor and review regularly.

Who are Foxmoor’s Governors?

In September 2013 the governing body was reconstituted under the 2012 School Governance Regulations. The new regulations allow us to change the numbers and types of governors we have and to invite people to join us at different times and in different roles on the basis of the skills they can bring.

 The current governing body now consists of:

 Chair of Governors          Mrs Elisabeth Newman

 Vice Chair                        Mrs Susan Freck

 Co-opted                          Mr Martin Kavanagh

                                          Mr Martyn Jones

                                          Mr Simon Holden

 Parent Governors            Mrs Helen Riddell

                                         Mrs Faye Ingram

Head Teacher                   Mrs N Maycock

Staff Governor                  Mr Adam Halsey

Clerk to Governors           Mrs Diane Witts



The standard term of office for a governor is four years. The chair and vice-chair are elected annually at the first meeting of the academic year.

The chair of governors is Mrs Elisabeth Newman, who can be contacted via the school office, where she has a post box.

Much of the work of the governing body is done by committees. At Foxmoor Primary School, we have four main committees: Finance; Premises and Resources; Personnel and Teaching, Learning and the Curriculum.

Other committees or working groups are formed when the need arises e.g. changes in Government policy or issues specific to our school.

                                                Elisabeth Newman (Chair of Governors)